Healing health benefits of yoga

A Yoga Pose by woman

Yoga can help balance your body, mind and your life

Over the past four years, I‘ve been practising yoga at my local gym. I took it up when I got a shoulder injury and couldn’t easily do the body pump classes with weights.

 

It was a revelation for me. I firmly believed that yoga helped heal my shoulder soreness but it did much more.

I was starting to develop higher blood pressure that my doctor wanted to watch. Since taking up yoga, my blood pressure is regularly 120 over 80.

I’m more relaxed and less stressed if something goes wrong in my work or private life. I’m much happier and feel ‘balanced’ – that’s the word that comes to mind.

Yoga centres me and helps me enjoy life. At 59, I am also as flexible as I was at 20 – that’s what yoga has done for me.

I know others who have reduced back pain, improved posture and their balance – important as we get older and want to get the most out of life.

I do hatha yoga and love the meditation at the end of each session. I also practise Japanese yoga which is based on Chinese Medicine meridians and yoga poses that work to improve different organs of the body: lungs, heart, liver, kidneys, bowel, bladder and so forth.

Give yoga a go. It’s been a revelation to me and improved my health amazingly.

Please note the views expressed here are the opinion of the writer and based on her personal experiences.

Leave a Reply

